The 4 Cs of Diamonds

The 4 Cs of Diamonds

Before you run out and buy that sparkly, gorgeous diamond, come see us at JRC Jewelry.


JRC Jewelry will personally shop for a diamond for you. We pride ourselves on shopping for a diamond that will best suit each of our customers’ needs based on shape, size, quality, and price. We have access to thousands of diamonds from dealers across the United States and Canada. We also have an extensive inventory of diamonds as well as diamond engagement rings and wedding sets, but shopping individually for our customers is our specialty. We never try to sell you a diamond because we have to move a huge inventory. Our goal is to find you the best possible deal on a diamond and we will search for the best quality diamond for the lowest possible price that will be perfect for you.

diamonds3What makes JRC different is that we offer you the honest, straight forward facts about diamonds, so that you can make the best, educated decision for your own needs and budget. No high pressure sales people, no big sales pitch. Our sales people are not on commission. Everyone shops differently for diamonds. We are just as happy to search for a small diamond as we are for a larger diamond. Whatever you are looking for in diamonds, come see us.

We are the “Diamond Authority”.

diamonds1A diamond is one of the largest purchases most people make, and you should understand exactly what you are purchasing. The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) has established a grading system for diamonds that is known as The Four C’s. This system uses four factors in the grading of diamonds. They are Cut, Color, Clarity, and Carat.

Below is a simple explanation of this grading system:

  • Cut:
    Diamonds are made into a number of different shapes. The most popular and well known shapes are round, marquise, pear, oval, princess, cushion, heart, and emerald. A well cut diamond is essential because every diamond gets its brilliancy and radiance in the cutting and polishing of the stone.
  • Color:
    Diamonds are graded according to color on a grading scale of “D”, a totally colorless diamond and considered the most valuable, through “Z”, which would be yellow and brown and the least valuable. There are also twelve other colors, which are called fancies. These are more expensive because they are considered to be rarer.
  • Clarity:
    Most diamonds contain tiny inclusions. Most are not visible with the naked eye, but can be seen through a jewelers loupe. Generally, the fewer and the smaller the inclusions in the diamond, the more valuable the stone. A clarity scale is also used in the grading of diamonds.

    FL Internally Flawless, a perfect stone with no inclusions at all.
    IF Internally Flawless but may have slight blemishes when viewed under a jeweler’s loupe.
    VVS1-2 Very, Very, Slightly Included and is an excellent clarity.
    VS1-VS2 Very Slightly Included, having inclusions smaller than a grain of salt.
    SI1 – SI2 Slightly Included but is generally eye clean and is still considered a nice clarity rating.
    I1 Imperfect, meaning the stone has imperfections and blemishes that are visible to the naked eye.
    I2-I3 The diamond has many imperfections and blemishes which are visible to the naked eye.
  • Carat:
    Carat is the measurement of the weight of the diamond. A 1.00 carat stone is a one carat diamond, a .50 carat a half, a .25 a quarter, etc. The higher the carat weight of a diamond, the more expensive the stone is. However, other factors affect the price of a diamond besides weight.

You can be confident that when you purchase a diamond from us, you will have the best stone your money can buy. While we would love to sell you a diamond, we would love to have you as a regular customer whether it be for a small purchase, a watch battery, a jewelry repair, or just for advice from our jewelers.
Browse our inventory. Prices listed are MSRP